Communications Minor

Many students, including Communications majors, pursue the Digital Media Technology concentration, which features 10 different independent study courses that allow them to concentrate on Norwich projects, such as the annual Rook Week video, client projects, the magazine series Vermont Sampler, which airs on local TV, and the history-based documentary series Our American Journey.

To earn a Digital Media Technology concentration, students select six of the independent-study options.

Students may also earn a Communication minor in conjunction with another major, which involves taking six courses that include two required classes.

Three distinct programs of minor or concentration exist within the curricula in Communications:

1. A minor in Communications, consisting of six courses completed with a grade of “C” or higher: CM 109, CM 207, and four additional courses numbered CM 208 or higher.

2. A concentration in Digital Media Technology, including six of the following:

  • CM270: Internet Communications
  • CM271: Television Production
  • CM391: Advanced Television Production
  • CM392: Documentary Television Production
  • CM393: Non-Linear Digital Television
  • CM491: Media Composer Techniques
  • CM492: Advanced Media Composer Techniques
  • CM493: Media Composer Graphics and Effects
  • CM494: Advanced Media Composer Graphics and Effects
  • CM495: Systems Configuration and Media Database Management

3. A concentration in Integrated Corporate Communications, including each of the following:

  • CM270: Internet Communications
  • CM303: Communications in Advertising
  • CM304: Corporate Communications
  • CM311: Speech Communications in the Workplace
  • CM207: Journalism I: Newsgathering
  • A course with prefix MG, EC, AC, QM, or FN

Connect with us

Norwich University
158 Harmon Drive
Northfield, VT 05663 USA
802.485.2000 | 1.800.468.6679
Copyright © 2018 Norwich University - all rights reserved